Deutsch Pусский العربية فارسی Türkçe
Skip To Content Site Search Deutsch Pусский العربية فارسی Türkçe
7th International Futsal Tournament Finishes in EMU

7th International Futsal Tournament Finishes in EMU

The 7th annual International Futsal Tournament organised by the Eastern Mediterranean University (EMU) Sports Affairs Directorate came to an end on Wednesday the 6th of April 2016. The final matches and award ceremony took place at the EMU Lala Mustafa Pasa Sports Complex. This year the tournament included 30 men’s and 10 women’s national teams. The group stages of the tournament took place between the 16th and 28th March 2016 whilst the quarter finals were played on the 30th of March 2016, and the semi-finals on the 4th of March 2016. The final matches saw Iran becoming champions in the men’s category and TRNC winning the women’s category.

On the way to the title Iran defeated Jordan 3-1 whilst the TRNC defeated Turkey 1-0. Jordan finished second in the men’s category and Turkey finished second in the women’s. In the third place matches Nigeria’s Men’s team defeated Sudan 3-1 to finish third. Nigeria’s Women’s team also finished third after defeating Cameroon 3-1.

After all of the matches were completed an awards ceremony took place and the players were handed their cups and medals. The champions were awarded their cups and medals by Rector Prof. Dr. Necdet Osam. The teams that finished second were awarded by Vice Rector in charge of Student Affairs Prof. Dr. Hifsiye Pulhan. The teams that finished third were awarded by the Dean of the Faculty of Education Prof. Dr. Ulker Vanci Osam and the Student Affairs Coordinator Assoc. Prof. Dr. Dervis Subasi. The teams that finished fourth were awarded by the Director of Sports Affairs Cemal Konnolu.

Further awards were also handed out on the night. Kader Dudukcu was named the Best Female Goalkeeper and Mohammad Karimzadeh was named the Best Male Goalkeeper. The top scorer in the women’s category was Ayse Mullacuma and in the men’s category it was Alireza Zarrin. The Fair-Play Award went to Fikriye Kanli in the women’s category, and Zaid Alshirh in the men’s. Duygu Yildiz was named the Best Female player of the tournament whilst Alireza Zarrin was named the Best Male player. The fair-play awards went to the Pakistan women’s team and the Syrian men’s team. These awards were presented to the teams and players by the staff of the Sports Affairs Directorate.